top of page
  • Writer's pictureDan

The Next Adventure Begins

August 16,2020

The golden hour, experimenting with beach model photography. A fun day at Clam Harbor Beach.

View over ocean at end of the day ... Reminiscense.


Another great beach day with my wonderful friend, Linda and Roadie.

August 18, 2020

A fantastic day kayaking with my beautiful daughter on Long Lake. A small challenge fighting the wind on our initial segment, but a great lunch and then a great paddle. Thank you for taking the photos Kelsey ... you know me about flipping kayaks and having any type of electronic device was not a good idea. HaHaHa

After fighting the wind we stopped for a lovely lunch prepared by Kelsey. Lunch on the lake.

After a nice break we made our way further up the lake.

August 19, 2020

What a day today! Linda and I started our day sea kayaking in Tangier. Turns out that the guide, Jeremy Dunn, is a son of a good friend of mine [Grant Dunn] who I used to work with in the Valley.


This was a great half day tour. Thank you for the photo's that were taken by Linda. I was too worried I would flip over and end up with my phone in the ocean. LOL

A beautiful little beach on an island ... great place to have lunch.

A great photo of Linda and I on the beach of the island where we had lunch. Thank you to the couple that were with us and took this photo.

In the afternoon, we spent it laying on Taylor's Head Beach. After a little time we took a walk along the beach ...

Tide going out created some lovely and interesting reflection shots.

Some great landscape pics at one end of the beach ...

This seagull at Taylor's Head Beach just kept getting braver and braver.

Next thing you know it was helping to set up the picnic. LOL

We laughed so hard and had so much fun that we didn't even realize it was almost 7pm when we left!!


August 21, 2020

A lovely late afternoon at Conrad Beach with Jeanie. A little on the windy side, but any beach day is worth it. LOL

August 23, 2020

My final beach day at Clam Harbor Beach for this year. What a great last day at the beach with some amazing friends: Linda, Sarah Jane and Donnie. Finally got to see Linda's inflatable pizza inflated! HaHaHa! Talk about fun to use in the waves. Thank you Linda and Sarah Jane for taking these photos. Such a great group to spend my last day with at the beach.



August 25, 2020

Had a wonderful visit with my friend Hope. I finally got to visit her inspiration ... Hope for Wildlife. Hope had started this amazing work from scratch 25 years ago, and presently organizes and manages a wildlife refuge for so many injured animals.

I had an amazing time visiting with Hope. I really don't know how she does it.

Here is hope feeding a fox. This little lady is a permanent resident at the facility. A friendly fun little fox.

She loves treats.

Just this year Hope had this building organized as part of a hands-on spot for visitors. Visitors can touch actual fur (confiscated from illegal poachers), and animals that were stuffed ... to see their actual size. This is only one of the many things you can see and enjoy. There is so much you can do, just in this one building!

This wise owl lost an eye but not it's spirit. Still sharp!

What a great afternoon with Hope, such a beautiful time I had with this lovely lady. I highly recommend anyone wanting to learn about Nova Scotia wildlife to come here. An awesome place to bring your child or class of children. They have an amazing educational program well worth considering as a school trip.

Thank you Hope for an amazing day. I look forward to our next get-together.


Oh my goodness! Late in the evening, the lightning and thunder were unbelievable! After a lightning strike beside my apartment it set off the fire alarm. It was 15 minutes waiting outside until the fire truck came!


August 26, 2020

My last evening out with my wonderful friend, Jeanie. After a short hike towards Point Pleasant Park we made our way to Halifax waterfront.

We stopped and had dinner at the Bicycle Thief ... a lovely meal with great company.

The meal was very good, but the dessert was super ... that's my sweettooth talking. Lol

August 27, 2020

My last evening out with some amazing friends: Hope, Linda, Sheila, Sarah Jane, Donnie and David. We spent an evening at Birch and Anchor. I cannot express how fantastic this evening was.



Just when you think the night cannot get any better, my friend Linda, pulls out a beautiful gift ... so thoughtful. A joke that her and I experienced together was shared with the group that explained the t-shirt. I will be wearing this tshirt on my travels.



I feel so blessed knowing all these amazing people. A night I will never forget ... and we got free nachos! 😆



August 28, 2020

Finally after a long haul, I was fortunate to be able to spend an evening with my great friends Sean and Cyril.


August 29th, 2020

Getting the apartment ready ... started to load the truck. Had a lovely visit from Sheldon and Gertrude. They are looking good. 😀



August 30, 2020

This morning, Matt and Kelsey helped me load the trailer. Got everything in, Yay! Have to say ... exhausted after . Lol


Went to a new brewery this evening. We visited Oxford Brewery. Beer was good and loved the outside patio. Kelsey, Matt, Sarah Jane and I ... a very relaxing spot.

We then drove up to La Piazza, a lovely Italian restaurant on Chebucto. Matt believes this to be the best Italian Restaurant in Halifax. I must say, I would have to agree with him. The food was amazing.

I was so pleased to see Linda come out and join us ... another great memory with Kelsey, Matt, Sarah Jane, Linda and I. A lovely evening with family and friends .


August 31st, 2020


BBQ at Kelsey and Matts. It took Matt 6 hours to prepare the ribs! Matt started off with a snack ... scallops and smoked salmon. He said, "You have to have fish on your last day before leaving. " Very thoughtful. Love these guys.


Preparing the ribs ... oh yeah!

Preparing a special rice dish.


OMG ...Soooo goooood!!!!.



A great last meal in Nova Scotia thank you Matt! Well done! Thank you to Matt and Kelsey for your hospitality ... what a great time.


My last day in Nova Scotia ... such a grand finale ... for this year as I head out tomorrow for my next adventure! Stay tuned ... stay safe everyone.



91 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page