top of page
  • Writer's pictureDan

The New Adventure!

Trip-Move Across Canada;

Well, it was a quick trip across the country. Only stops I made were at gas stations. I had a cooler full of food and drink and slept in the truck, which was far from comfortable. Made every attempt to minimize catching the Covid virus.

The following is a break down of my stops. Not very exciting but may be helpful for anyone traveling across Canada. I may need to use it for next year.

Many were wondering why the move ... because I am retired. LOL.

Actually the move was to spend time with my son and siblings and relatives. It is very true I will miss my daughter and friends in NS, but a new adventure was inspired. After a year, I will re-evaluate.


September 1 (Halifax to Pembroke, ON)

7:40am left Timberlea, Kelsey and Matts ... a sad day.

Gas up in Moncton, NB

Gas up in Edmunston, NB

Gas up in St. Nicolas, QC

Took route 30 around Montreal

Toll Sakaberry- de- Valleyfield, QC

Gas up Rigaud, QC.

Slept in truck at a truck stop in Pembroke, ON arrived near midnight.


September 2nd

Woke up at 6am

Gas up in Pembroke, ON at truck stop

Gas up Temagami, ON

Gas up Temagami, ON

Gas up at Cochrane, ON

Gas up at Long lac after driving at 95km/h and fighting head wind. Noticed Gas going down quicker than normal. Usually 300km half tank with trailer. This section ... 320km 3/4 tank. Was touch and go if I can make it to a gas station.

Gas at Thunder Bay 12:18am.

Slept in truck at Walmart parking lot in Thunder Bay at 1am


September 3rd

Got up at 5am and headed out.

Gas at Dryden, ON

Pulled over for 1 hour nap

Gas up at Prawda, MB

What a beautiful sunset tonight.


Gas up Brandon, MB

Gas up at Elkhorn, MB

Gas up Belle Plaine, SK

Slept in truck at Walmart parking lot in Swift Current. Arrived after midnight.


September 4th

Got up at 600am.

Gas up at Swift Current, Sk.

Gas up at Medicine Hat, AB

Arrived at UHaul in Calgary 11:30am.

Charlie and Karen arrived at noon to help unload. I was so grateful they came up as I was tired from the journey. U haul was such a pain. Even though the storage was free for one month, it seemed very disorganized. The day before I had reserved an outside storage, when I got there, they only had inside storage. I had to move my stuff down a long hall inside the storage building. This was not fun, but thankful Charlie and Karen were there to help.


Charlie and Karen stayed in hotel for the night. I treated them to supper. So much appreciate they came up and helped me.


September 5th

Charlie and Karen head out after breakfast this morning, as I look around for an apartment. Hundreds of apartments available!

After carefully narrowing down selection, I viewed 3 apartments today, the last one at 9pm. Did not care for any of them. One apartment was listed as a two bedroom, but was actually a one bedroom with no dining room ... weird.


September 6th

I viewed 2 apartments today and agreed to one. What a great deal and place. It was cheaper than most I looked at and very spacious. Very happy with my choice.


September 7th

This morning at 8:20am, I signed the contract and did a property inspection.

I had to stop at the storage to get some sleeping bags for the camping trip. I decided I may add week get the truck loaded to save a trip.

I stopped in Okotoks to buy some groceries. After this, I met Jordan at 4pm, junction 22 and 533 for camping trip. Time to relax and 'isolate'.

49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page