top of page
  • Writer's pictureDan

Northern Ireland - Beautiful

March 13th, 2020


Well, what an interesting day today. To go from the beginning of my travels to requiring to immediately buy a flight ticket back to Canada ASAP. Such a bizarre twist of events.

The following map gives an indication of the regions that I covered in the last 2 weeks while I was in Ireland so many awesome things to see and do.

I did cover almost everything I wanted to see in Ireland and even some things I didn't want to see. For example, on my last night here I was waiting by the elevator in my hotel when I see a guy running from one door to the next with not a stitch of clothing on. LOL That was when I realized St. Patricks Day parties were still happening.


I stopped in Broughshane to pay respects to some of my past relatives. In the Second Presbyterian Church there is a golden plaque on the podium with one of the names being my great Uncle Thomas Reid. Also my grandmother Grace Reid had received a signed special book from the Minister at the Second Presbyterian Church and that she also had signed it. I have the original book that she won.

A lady was kind enough to unlock the door and let me in the church. She also helped me find the plaque.

Close by is the graveyard and I visited my great grandmother and grandfather Reid. I would liked to thank Joe Reid for this information. Without his assistance I would not have had the opportunity.

In Joe's message, "...Our great grandparents: James Knox Reid and Grace Reid, also named on the headstone, our great uncle Thomas Reid killed in action, France 1917, also two great aunts, Mary Montgomery, intered at Renfrew, Scotland and Sara Reid who never married intered with her parent.

The grave is on the last path on the right as you enter the cemetery from Knocken Road. The inscription is much weathered but still readable...."

This is the War Memorial in Broughshane and our great-Uncle Thomas Reid's name is also on this Memorial. Here may be gone, but not forgotten.

After leaving Broughshane I drove up to Craigie Warren to see where my grandmother Grace Reid lived in her younger years, which is not too far from Broughshane. I then drove up to the Dark Hedges. This is where part of the filming of Games of Thrones had taken plac. This is a beautiful setting. I love the arches of the trees.

I made my way to Dunluce Castle and unfortunately you have to pay to go in here. There doesn't look like there's much worth seeing so I just took some external photos and made my way to the next location.

My next stop was the Giant's Causeway. This was quite unique, there were a lot of people here. The most tourists I have seen in most of my travels and in one location, to be honest. But, the rock formations were quite interesting and a lot of unique shots were taken here.

I was on my way to Dunseverick Castle and stopped in thr parking lot, crossed over the fence and walked down to the ocean front. I thought it was the castle and it turned out it wasn't, however these beautiful waterfalls called Dunseverick Waterfalls were located here. A beautiful spot and just a short distance from the castle.

This is Dunseverick Castle and it is a very beautiful spot. I started walking down on the west side of the hill and came across a bog. I saw a lady and she was walking up on the east side. So, I went around to where she had come up and I went down that way.

I climbed up to the top and really enjoyed walking around this area.

Ballintoy Harbour was another filming location for the Game of Thrones. This was a very beautiful area to say the least. A great backdrop for any movie.

Each direction that you look from the harbour is very beautiful and different region.

My second last stop for the evening was my all-time favourite, Kinbane Castle an abandoned castle. What an absolutely beautiful location. I would like to have had more time to spend here ... waterfalls on the west side of the castle, an abandoned building on the east side and waterfalls further up on the east side cliffs. Just an incredible spot and I'm sure a lot of stories could be shared about this place

It was a windy day up here, but certainly worth they walk in. The view ... I love this area.

I was about to head back to my B&B when I saw this abandoned Abbey on the side of the road. So, I turned around and parked the car. I went exploring, again not to be disappointed. It was another amazing spot.

I lioe these old steps.


Starting to get dark so I must call it the evening.


When I returned the next morning to Belfast, they hotel room overlooked the Europa Hotel. Normally I would not take a picture of just any hotel, but this one has been bombed more times than any other hotel in the world. I guess not something to be proud of but it is a fact.

And so ends my journey rather suddenly, but as you know we are all going through a weird unexpected interruption right now. I did enjoy my time in Ireland ... and for my next journey? Not sure where or when. The Coronavirus is about to play its toll on many and it will certainly leave a huge impact on all of us.

Take care everyone ... Dan, out for now.



29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page