top of page
  • Writer's pictureDan

From inland to the west coast.

Match 4th 2020


An absolutely gorgeous sunny day today. I just left Navan about 5 minutes and saw some old ruins in a community just off the road. I thought what the heck, let's take a small side trip.

I turned onto a side road and drove into the town called Trim. I ended up right at the old ruins... what a great spot to stop and take some photos.


I made my way to Athlone to view the castle. As I was walking I wanted to stop and take a photo of the IRA Memorial.

This is a view along River Shannon, which is overflowing.

So far does not look like the homes got flooded. I went over to check .


Taking a side road you can see some hidden treasures. I made san unscheduled stop at Dunovon Castle ... a beautiful spot.

I took a drive up to Louisburgh. To my surprise I came across this monument linking their town to Louisburg, Cape Breton, NS


I stopped at this old Church graveyard in Louisburgh.


I was getting back in my vehicle when I saw this poster on the side of the Church. Grace O'Malley was quite a rebel in her day. I went looking for the castle but could not find it.

A view from Louisburgh top of a hill.

As I drove the road from Louisburgh to Aasleigh, the water made for a great reflection shot. It was a gorgeous drive through here.

The scenery was breathtaking to say the least. Certainly worth the extra drive time. Not many cars on this road, Thank goodness as the road was so narrow. Wow!

I got to Assleigh Falls and took a very short hike to these falls. I needed the break and a perfect break it was.

I made it to Kylemere Abbey. I saw a photo of it once and just had to go see it. What a great spot.. .

I stopped at Glenlo Abbey thinking it was Menlo Castle. It turned out that this is now a hotel, Golf course, e.t.c.

This concierge came over to see if I needed anything. I told him I made the wrong turn that I thought it was the castle. He invited me to come in to take some photos. He also suggested I have a cup of tea. When I stated I was just taking photos he grabbed a set of keys and took me into the abbey. He then suggested that I go to the castle and jump over the gate to take some pics. I will do that tomorrow. What a nice gentleman.






44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page