top of page
  • Writer's pictureDan

Dublin - Urban Hike Day 2


March 11th, 2020


I started my urban hiking at 8 in the morning and got back into my room at 5:30 this evening. It was a long day, but it didn't feel like it and I saw 99% of the things on my list in Dublin.

This is the River Liffey, going through the center of Dublin.

This statue is Molly Malone. It it's a bronze statue of a fictional fishmonger named Molly Malone, the star of a well-known Irish song.

This is Christ Church during the day. I was here taking pictures last night. However the gate was open today and so I walked around the grounds. This bench looks like there's someone sleeping on it. It is actually a statue to give the impression that someone is sleeping on it.

This arch joins the two buildings and has a main road that goes underneath it.

Towards the end of the year of 1825 two women perished as they attempted to make their way to the hospital. The two women perished with their newborn children in the snow.

Word

This structure formed the entrance to the hospital until 1967 when the hospital was moved to a different location. The structure was left as a memorial to the two ladies and and their newborn children that perished and to those that gave generously to prevent such an event from happening again.

Saint Patrick's Cathedral (Irish: Ard-Eaglais Naomh Pádraig ) in Dublin, Ireland, founded in 1191, is the National Cathedral of the Church of Ireland. With its 43-metre (141 ft) spire, St. Patrick's is the tallest church (not Cathedral) in Ireland and the largest. Christ Church Cathedral.

It is presently under construction for a roof to be repaired or replaced.

This is a panoramic shot of Dublin taken from the Carriage House.

An interesting sculpted head on a door entry.

Brad Stoker worked here from 1866 to 1878, he was the author of the book 'Dracula'.

Viking and Norman defenders and artifacts were found on this particular site as well.

This is the inside of Stephen's Green Shopping Centre. I must say it's probably the nicest shopping mall I've ever seen. It is not that big, but it certainly had a lot of character.

This is Stephen's Green Park there's a lot of history attached to the park.

As was stated by maps.me ... and I found quite amusing:

During the Easter Rising of 1916, a group of insurgents made up mainly of members of the Irish Citizen Army, under the command of Commandant Michael Mallin, his second-in-command Kit Poole, and Constance Markievicz, established a position in St Stephen's Green. They numbered between 200 and 250. They confiscated motor vehicles to establish road blocks on the streets that surround the park, and dug defensive positions in the park itself. This approach differed from that of taking up positions in buildings, adopted elsewhere in the city. It proved to have been unwise when elements of the British Army took up positions in the Shelbourne Hotel, at the northeastern corner of St Stephen's Green, overlooking the park, from which they could shoot down into the entrenchments. Finding themselves in a weak position, the Volunteers withdrew to the Royal College of Surgeons on the west side of the Green. During the Rising, fire was temporarily halted to allow the park's groundsman to feed the local ducks.

This is the external view of Stephen's Green shopping mall.

I visited Trinity College and to my disappointment the Book of Kells and other places of interest here, were closed today.


I did get to watch their rugby team do their practice.

The National Gallery of Ireland houses the national collection of Irish and European art. It was founded in 1854 and opened its doors ten years later.

I like the photo that they pasted on the side of the steps.

I've included some of my favourite paintings that I saw while at the Museum. I've also included the write ups to explain each one.



This is a body of a warrior who was uncovered in 1934. His sword on one side of him and his blade on the other accompany him in his grave.

This skull of a Warrior, you can see that either a sword or an axe had removed part of this skull with a clean cut.

When I had visited Dunmore caves a few days ago, they talked about the hoard that was found in of 1993 ... they indicated that the treasure was sent to the museum in Dublin because they do not have the proper facilities to house such a fortune. I was fortunate enough to be able to see this actual treasure that was found by a guide at the museum.

While at the museum they had a computer that I could use for tracing some of the surnames if those that had immigrated into Ireland. I looked up our grandmother's maiden name Reid and found this little trivial information ...

In another local park there was a statue of Oscar Wilde so I stopped to take a quick photo.

Ominous clouds are moving in and I'm headed back to my room. Unfortunately, it downpoured before I got back, so all my clothes are hanging to dry before I leave in the morning. LOL

This is called the Spire of Dublin. You can see this almost from anywhere as well. Because of how tall it is, you have a good idea where you're situated within the city at daytime or night-time. There's a light on the very top so that helps to guide you at night as well. Time to go back and pack up.


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page