top of page
  • Writer's pictureDan

Biking from Banff to Johnston Canyon 49.2km

What a ride! Charlie and Karen were vacationing in Canmore and on one day invited me to join them for a 49.2km bike trek from Banff to Johnston Canyon and back. The weather was perfect for this ride.

This photo created by Charlie, was actually two photographs he combined into one to have all 3 of us in the photo.

We just got started on our journey when Charlie kicked in his brakes and said something. I was just trying to avoid running into him as I drove past with my brakes on! I stopped looked back and saw Charlie taking out his camera in lightning speed! There were two coyotes up on the hill ... I was not quite so quick to get out my camera and did not have it set to take wildlife shots. My biggest question is how the hell did Charlie see these two coyotes at the speed we were traveling on our bikes ... and they were way up on a bank between trees!!!! Nothing wrong with his eyesight. LOL


Our first official stop was Vermilion Lakes and what a gorgeous stop ... lighting was so perfect, calm waters and perfect sky.

Just an amazing start to our trip.

The clouds created a lovely pattern.

The beginning of the closed Johnston Canyon highway ... a rare opportunity ... no vehicles.

An icon entrance into the Bow Valley Parkway.

Charlie took this photo of Karen and I biking down the highway. A rare opportunity to capture this photo ... after this Karen was always at least half a kilometer ahead of me. LOL (no kidding)

The only shot Charlie got me passing them was when they woke up from their nap waiting for me. I tried to sneak by but not a chance ... nothing gets by those eagle eyes. LOL

A lovely shot of the back side .........

....... of the mountain. Hey! What were you thinking?! Hahaha

A stop with a gorgeous view including Bow River.

Just one of many, of the beautiful mountainscapes sites on our journey.

So peaceful, driving my bike with no one around.

Jacket off... weather perfect. Charlie capturing a moment of joy. As I said, not often find me that quiet ... just taking nature all in.

The day just could not be any better.

Another great photo of the 3 of us, by Charlie. At our final destination before heading back.

Charlie took this photo op, with a sign that was meant to include this guy. LOL

Karen had prepared a marvelous lunch. Certainly went down quite smoothly.

A few mountain pics on my bike journey back to Banff.

A panorama shot with Charlie and Karen overlooking ... a beautiful fall scene.

Love this shot nature at its best.

A shot by Charlie as I cross the"FINISH" line. Well, actually another 7km to go, but it felt good. Lol

Back at Vermilion lakes ... still impressive!

This sweet couple ... still looking like they are just starting their bike ride. LOL

A perfect bike day.

I can't get enough of the scenery ... natural breathtaking beauty.

The end of our bike journey ... what a ride!


They were just pretending to be exhausted ... me ... not so much. LOL

We then went to Iron Goat for supper, what a great way to end the day ... great food ... great company.

Thank you Charlie and Karen for another memorable day! What a fantastic trip!


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page